There are currently 36 States which Missouri has Reciprocity with: They acknowledge our Concealed Carry permits and we acknowledge theirs. Please research the CCW permit law for the state that you will be traveling in. There are differences between the CCW laws from state to state. (Ammunition restrictions, ect..) The List below is continuously changing so please check the sates Attorney General Web Site for updates before traveling..
ALASKA (Reciprocity recognized if permit holder is 21 or older)
ARIZONA (Reciprocity recognized if permit holder is 21 or older)
FLORIDA (Reciprocity recognized if permit holder is 21 or older)
NEBRASKA (Reciprocity recognized if permit holder is 21 or older)
PENNSYLVANIA (Reciprocity recognized if permit holder is 21 or older)
VIRGINIA (Reciprocity recognized if permit holder is 21 or older)
There were changes to the list areas in August 2022.
*Areas in BOLD face have been repealed. You can read the bills by clicking the yellow and red tab to the right.
Be aware that the changes have not been updated on the Attorney Generals website as of 2023.
1. Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol office or station
2. Within twenty-five feet of any polling place on any election day
3. Any correctional facility
4. Any courthouse or building used by a court
5. Any government meeting including state legislature
6. Government owned buildings except public housing
7. Bars. (except owners)
8. Secured parts of airports (Federal)
9. Prohibited by federal law
10. All Schools (including colleges)
11. Child care facilities
13. Amusement parks
14. Any church (Unless you have permission from the Pastor)
15. Private property with 11X14 sign with one inch letters
16. Arenas and stadiums seating over 5,000
17. Publicly accessible hospitals
18. Bus and Public Transportation (It is a Felony offense for carrying a concealed firearm on the metro link or bus).
For a complete list of restricted areas, refer to RSMO 571 and laws concerning the use of force for self defense refer to RSMO 563. Both laws can be located at the Missouri Attorney Generals web site (www. mo.ago.gov)
Locate laws pertaining to other states at: http://www.nraila.org/gunlaws.
Frequently Asked Questions
If you file a renewal application after the expiration date of your endorsement, the sheriff or sheriff’s designee may assess an additional late fee of ten dollars per month for each month the concealed carry endorsement is expired for up to six months. After six months, you will be required to reapply for a new concealed carry certificate and pay new applicant fees.
If you have any questions regarding the concealed carry certificate renewal application or to set up an appointment, please contact the sheriff or sheriff’s designee in your county of residence.
RENEWING AFTER EXPIRATION
St. Louis County Concealed Carry Fees-
Concealed Carry Weapons Fee - $90.00
Concealed Carry Renewal - $40.00
Concealed Carry Change of Address - $8.00
Concealed Carry Replace Lost Permit- $8.00
Concealed Carry Name Change - $8.00
Concealed Carry Late Renewal Fee - $10.00
Price list as of 1/1/2014
If you wish to renew your concealed carry certificate and update your endorsement, you must submit a renewal application and the required renewal fee to the sheriff in your county of residence. Upon your successful completion of all renewal requirements, the sheriff or sheriff's designee shall issue a certificate of qualification that must specify the issue date of the renewal and the control number.
Why should I get a permit if it's no longer required?
Missouri has passed into law a permit-less concealed carry system. This authorizes anyone who is not a convicted felon to carry a firearm concealed or open carry with no training. Of course there are restrictions to this permit system. Anyone carrying in this status must be aware of where they cannot carry a weapon. Unlike the CCW permit where you will not be given a warning, someone without a permit can be charged / arrested and have his / her weapon seized. The permit-less system is only authorized within the state of Missouri but a CCW permit will allow you to carry into 35 additional states. It's best to "Know the Law - Before you Draw" when carrying a concealed weapon.
Where do I go to get my CCW renewed?
As long as all of your information is current on your CCW Endorsement, you can file the renewal at your local Sheriff's Department.
If your information is not current, you need to contact the agency that issued the certificate.
When can I start the renewal process?
Sixty days prior to the expiration date.
What is the cost of the renewal?
$40.00 Cash, Credit, or Debit. (Check with your Sheriff's Department).
There is a $10.00 late fee per month after the expiration of the CCW Endorsement.
What do I need to bring with me to file my renewal?
Your Driver's License or Non-Driver ID.
Is training required to carry a concealed firearm?
No. But you should: Know the Law-Before you draw. Proper training will ensure you do the right thing if a self defense situation arises.
CCW RENEWAL PROCESS
2022 Changes made to RSMo:
This is not to be considered legal advice. Please access the Missouri's Attorney Generals website for further changes.
Please be aware that RSMo 571.030 reflects that a "Qualified Retired Peace Officer" is someone who has fifteen years or more of aggregate service.
Federal law was changed in 2010 by the introduction of the "Law Enforcement Officers' Safety Act - Improvements Act / S.1132, reducing the requirement to ten years or more of aggregate service.